home sweet home…

banner_outside_5087-940x395 banner-outside-05-940x395 banner_thingstodo_13-940x395 getting-here-eastcoastmap-v2 banner-thingstodo-vida-940x395 a1

banner_thingstodo_14-940x395

I am having this day-dream of moving home to Newfoundland and moving more specifically to Fogo Island … I was there when I was 10 and fell in love. I want to be in nature, turn off from the over flow of daily visual stimuli of the big city to get back in touch with myself, my home land and what really is my true artistic style… sadly I haven’t painted a painting inspired by home since I lived there as a teen… although I did do my final project in fashion school entirely inspired by home! Cable knits, tartan plaids, fisherman inspired hats and viking metal jewelry… There are too many images passing through my head and too much hustle and bustle sometimes. I just love the story of Zita Cobb… a Newfoundlander who moved home after a successful career to build the Fogo Island Inn on Fogo Island. It is very romantic! She is using her talents to share Fogo’s rich culture through events at the hotel and encouraging local artisans by connecting them with international artists through the art gallery through Shorefast foundation and by supporting local business developement.

What a beautiful inspiring story and place to be! Heaven on earth! Way to go Zita!

About Tiffany Elton

I love local. I am all about home, happiness & cake.
This entry was posted in canadian fashion designers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

